I Love New York

May 1, 2008 at 9:47 pm 5 comments

My six-month mail-in A1C results from the Stanford Healthier Living with Diabetes Self-Management Program arrived in the mail today. My HbA1c was a new personal record: 4.8! Of course I’ll want to get this one confirmed at a real lab, but last time the real lab number was only .2 points away from the mail-in result, so I guess I’ll go ahead and celebrate! w00! Thanks go out to Starlix for allowing me to eat, to New York City and Brooklyn for being so darn pedestrian friendly, to my usual low-carb (and more recently, Zone-favorable) diet for the obvious, and to Crossfit for kicking my ass left and right and keeping me coming back for more. 🙂

Entry filed under: diet, exercise, happy, hba1c, labwork, MODY, nyc. Tags: , , .

Sausage Arms! Greetings from chilly NYC

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ModyGirl  |  May 4, 2008 at 6:43 am

    WOW! Good for you…I’m dreaming of even getting my A1C in the low 5’s….
    I have a question for you: what was your diet like before getting yourself into gear??? And how did you change?
    I’m a daily runner, but I just can’t seem to cut all carbs out.
    sigh.
    Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  • 2. lancetqueen  |  May 4, 2008 at 9:34 am

    Hi ModyGirl! Let me see if I can dig out some old notebooks and see what my pre-low-carb diet was like. Offhand I remember eating bagels for breakfast and bread of some sort at every dinner. A typical lunch often involved a sandwich. I first started going lower-carb when my doctor pointed out some of the higher-carb bits of my diet that could be easily eliminated (baby carrots is one I remember) and other good foods to try (almonds, nuts, spaghetti squash). These smaller adjustments actually worked fine for me and rendered A1Cs around 6.0 for a while, but I guess either my diabetes progressed or I became less sensitive to Starlix, and that’s when I really cracked down and started this blog.

    Have you looked into the Zone diet? What I really love about it so far is that it teaches balance between protein, fats and carbs rather than just focusing on reducing carb alone. I used to be super-focused on just reducing carb intake, but now I am more focused on getting the right quality carbs and right amount. My diet hasn’t changed very drastically on the Zone, but I feel like I’m eating more food – even have trouble finishing some meals – but are still seeing good post-meal numbers.

    Reply
  • 3. Kerri.  |  June 3, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Great job on the A1c! I’m looking to lower mine in preparation for pregnancy – I’d be interested in any tips you have. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. ModyGirl  |  September 26, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Where have you gone? My husband and I really love reading your blog….come back soon!

    Reply
  • 5. Keith  |  July 8, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    I hope you are not driving your A1C levels that low with medications and or insulin! A recent very large study in UK published by Lancet medical journal shows that A1C should not be driven down below 7 with meds or insulin. just sayin 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr


