Crossfit

March 17, 2008 at 6:27 pm 1 comment

Yesterday I accompanied a friend to my very first Crossfit group class in Brooklyn. My husband went a few months ago but I was sitting it out while rest and cortisone treatments via iontophoresis healed the inflammation around my Haglund’s Deformity. I was super-nervous about the class (fears of puking and hypoglycemia made me eat an unreasonable amount of carbs beforehand – oops) but managed to complete the warm-up (which was far more difficult in intensity than my normal workout) then in lieu of the Workout of the Day (35 cleans and jerks), worked on form and technique with the instructor. I’m in a whole new world of pain today, but hope to make this a regular part of my workout routine. I’ve been lamenting my lack of general/cardiovascular fitness lately, especially during my weight lifting routines where I felt like I wasn’t making much progress due to my lack of cardiovascular endurance. Friday at the gym I did an interval routine on the treadmill and felt fantastic afterwards. I think adding more running, buying a bike, and doing Crossfit at least once a week will be just the thing to move me towards better overall fitness. Plus how cool would it be to one day say I’m proficient at gymnastics and Olympic Weightlifting?

Any diabetic pals out there Crossfit junkies?

Entry filed under: exercise, MODY, motivation, nyc. Tags: , , .

I can see! Crossfit Foundations

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kirez Reynolds  |  March 18, 2008 at 3:58 am

    I’m a type 1 diabetic, and a crossfitter. There are a few of us on the forums at the CrossFit web site — I’ve exchanged messages with about 4 so far.

    Congratulations on finding crossfit and your first class! It’s fantastic. You’ll find that diet / nutrition is advocated as a first priority, and as a diabetic I know you’ll benefit tremendously from the diet that crossfit prescribes.

    You might find some of the discussion / studies linked in my blog interesting, I left a link here.

    cheers, and welcome!
    Kirez

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr


