Greetings from Brooklyn

October 2, 2007 at 9:44 pm 1 comment

Greetings from Brooklyn! After two months of working in the Big Apple and living in peaceful, green Brooklyn, I can report that this city is both a wonderful and a terrible place for my diabetes. Wonderful because you can’t even begin to imagine what a positive affect all the walking has on my blood sugars, but horrible for me because the hassle of cooking at home in a tiny apartment vs. the convenience of eating out has resulted in some very poor diet decisions. I hit a low this week by allowing myself to run out of test strips for the first time in months, but am picking up a refill tomorrow and will soon be back on track.

On top of my 3 mile average daily walks to and from the subway station and around the ‘hood, I joined a local gym but have only been making it there 2 times a week, 3 at most. I really miss working out at home. There were so fewer things to come between me and a workout when all I had to do was walk a few feet and pop in a DVD, but I like my downstairs neighbor too much to do Turbo Jam on her ceiling. Now it seems that anything can come between me and the gym – early meetings at work, long days at work, any social activities during the week, illness, etc. My immune system is taking quite a beating too: two colds and 1 food poisoning all in a two months span. I hope this is just my immune system adjusting to living in germ and virus mecca.

Yesterday morning I saw my new internist for the first time and am in love. He gave me an order for a whole slew of tests to take to a Qwest Diagnostic, including an A1C. We both acknowledged that the A1C probably wasn’t going to be very pretty, so the plan is for me to get a second A1C in February then go see him, and if it hasn’t improved he will refer me to an endocrinologist in the same office. For now I’m quite happy with the prospect of seeing him for my diabetes treatment – he was familiar with MODY, seemed up-to-date on his treatment knowledge, and was a very good listener.

So long for now – considering the workload at my (ver stressful) new job, I don’t know how regularly I’ll be able to check in, but I’m thinking about all of my D-friends and hope to catch up on all of your blogs soon!

Entry filed under: diabetes, doctor appointment, exercise, MODY, nyc.

Moving to the Big Apple It’s Numbers Time!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Maniacally Monday  |  October 2, 2007 at 10:14 pm

    hey there! How exciting to read that you’re alive and doing relatively well. (Though ick about the colds.) How’s the new job? Are you enjoying it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr


