Reunited

May 29, 2007 at 10:27 pm 6 comments

A chapter in my Insulin Experiment has come to a close. Over the long weekend, I ditched my mealtime insulin and returned to the safe arms of low-carbing and Starlix, and a funny thing happened: my post-prandials and fasting blood sugars magically returned to the 80-100 mg/dls. Amazed and relieved but still a bit nervous, I decided to finally take the time (something a mother of a MODY patient that I encountered on Dr. Bernstein’s forums suggested a month or so ago) to write a long email to the experts at Centre for Molecular Genetics at the Peninsula Medical School and Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital, Exeter, UK and ask them what they thought about insulin vs. sulfonylureas.

Professor Hattersley wrote me back with a world of information, and I learned that in his experience, staying on oral medications was the best long-term option for MODY patients. Turns out they have observed MODY patients actually deteriorate on insulin. Whoa! So I am finally submitting to what my doctor and PA told me all along, which was that the Starlix was not putting me at risk of prematurely burning out my beta cells. Professor Hattersley even suggested an option for the future that I had not considered, which was a long-acting insulin taken once a day with Starlix at mealtime, and confirmed what I’d experienced, even with the insulin, which was that a high-carb diet makes no sense for a MODY diabetic.

I still have a lot of info from Professor Hattersley to process, but for now I’m confident that I’m making the right decision: I will resume using Starlix at meals, and will use insulin for correction doses and to cover the occasional high-carb meal. Injected insulin was simply no match for my own insulin. Obviously I’ll need the insulin full-time when my husband and I decide to breed, but we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it. 🙂

In other insulin-related news, I know who I’m calling first thing tomorrow morning…

Entry filed under: diabetes, happy, insulin, MODY.

Anxiety Always Strawberry Love

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maniacally Monday  |  June 9, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    hey, how are your numbers doing since you went back on the Starlix?

    Reply
  • 2. lancetqueen  |  June 9, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    So far so good! I’ve only had to make about 3 corrections with the insulin. I will admit though that I’ve fallen off the good record-keeping wagon. I’m testing after every meal, but I’ve been slacking on measuring my food, counting my carbs, and charting my blood sugars. Rather than try to keep that up every day, I think I’ll set a goal to just do it at least 3 days a week.

    Reply
  • 3. k1b234  |  June 22, 2007 at 1:33 am

    As a type II diabetic who has gotten the disease under control through high protein, low carbohydrate diet and natural supplements, I encourage you to investigate the possible benefits of the high protein, low carbohydrate diet and natural supplements for gaining more control of your disease and, possibly, reducing or eliminating the need for prescription medication.

    Please see: http://diabetes-center.blogspot.com/ .

    Reply
  • 4. adi  |  June 23, 2007 at 4:53 am

    Thought I’d pop in and see how you were doing. Obviously things are going well since returning to starlix. “B” is doing well (most of the time). PP’s are too high but then teenagers are hard to rein in when it comes to diet. If you don’t mind could you share with me the info from the Prof? I think it’s wonderful that these people will provide us with free information. A rare breed indeed.

    Reply
  • […] the Starlix was not putting me at risk of prematurely burning out my beta cells…. source: Reunited, Lancet Queen: My Life as a MODY […]

    Reply
  • 6. GuitarManDave  |  February 5, 2008 at 10:55 am

    Hi –

    I’ve been following your blog for a few months now. I am also a Mody diabetic and I’m struggling to find the right course of treatment.

    Metformin did nothing for me. Prandin was difficult to control – on a low carb diet I was hypo all the time and when I tried to compensate by adding carbs I’d inevitably overshoot and spike.

    Mr Doctor likes Starlix but it is a tier-3 drug through my insurance so it’s pretty expensive.

    I’m seriously considering bolus insulin but after reading your post about giving up on that path I’m concerned. Could you comment on why you gave up on insulin and switched back primarily to starlix?

    Thanks. Keep up the good work. There aren’t many of us Modys out here so it’s very comforting to find even a small pocket of community.

    Dave

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr

General Physician In Bhubaneswar

Ipod?

Health Benefits of Human Saliva

More Photos

