Anxiety Always

May 22, 2007 at 3:43 pm 1 comment

Gah! Another day of slightly elevated blood sugars. In order to simplify my troubleshooting, I think I’m going to have to stop using the I-Port for a week or so. I’m not happy about it but I’m more even less happy about waking up above 100 and having problems getting under 130 all day long. Other possibilities:

  • hidden infection or impending illness (I feel fine though, gums and mouth fine, etc)
  • insulin gone bad (I just changed my Humapen cardridge on Saturday)
  • lingering repercussions from The Pizza (could one bad day really throw me for this long?)
  • my meter is off (seems unlikely but I could make my newer backup meter my primary just in case)
  • my strips are bad (am almost done with this vial so will be able to check that off in about two strips)
  • hormones (possibly, but that usually happens on the 4th week of my birth control pill, not the 3rd)
  • I’m developing insulin resistance and need to adjust my carb/insulin ratio

That last possibility scares me the most – is it possible that after only a month and a half of injecting less than 15 units of Humalog a day, I’m becoming resistant to it? Is a carb/insulin ratio of 1 unit per 8 carbs in the A.M. and 1 unit per 10 carbs in the P.M. excessive for someone under 115 pounds? Is it normal to have to increase your carb/insulin ratio after only a month and a half of usage? I always understood that MODYs were very sensitive to insulin, so of course this makes me wonder – what if I’m not MODY after all?

The other thing that has been worrying my lately is this constant anxiety surrounding losing my basal insulin production. Every morning when I wake up and test, I pray the number is under 100, and every time it isn’t, I think “well, this is the beginning of the end”. I know that sounds terribly melodramatic, but I realize just how lucky I’ve been to still make some insulin and make it in a consistent manner, and I am determined to preserve that functionality! Then today I was doing some googling on insulin resistance and MODY and came across this terrifying statement:

Except for MODY2, all types of MODY are characterized by glucose intolerance and progressive ß-cell failure and can lead to the long-term complications typical of diabetes.

Progressive beta cell failure?! My PA also seems to believe that my MODY will inevitably progress, but I still don’t want to believe it. What if the MODY patients they based that observation on destroyed their own beta cells with high blood sugars or oral medications?

All this makes me want to shell out for the genetic profile needed to determine once and for all what type of MODY I have… but what if I spend thousands of dollars just to find out I’m not even MODY? If I did turn out to be the “progressive” type, would I regret finding it out? Or would I benefit from having some time to come to grips with the fact that eventually I will have complete dependence on insulin? What if I have MODY2/glucokinase? Would I celebrate? What is it I really seek to gain from such a diagnosis? Judging by the tone of this post, the money would probably be better spent on a beach vacation or something else aimed at restoring my mental health. 😛

Maybe there is more I can figure out on my own. The diagnosis flowchart on the Athena Diagnostic MODY page shows a path for Ketotic and Non-Ketotic. MODY falls under Non-Ketotic. I picked up some Ketone testing strips at Walgreens last week, so next time I’m above 200-250 I will test and see what happens.

Entry filed under: diabetes, frustration, humalog, I-Port, insulin, ketones, MODY.

Pizza hubris Reunited

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tunde Csik  |  November 20, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Hi! Could you write some more about the I-port? How do you like it? Any suggestion? I am thinking to give it a try…I am a new diabetic…I really enjoyed your post…
    It is a new device so there is not many comment about it. Thank you for your time!

    Best wishes

    Tunde

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr

General Physician In Bhubaneswar

Ipod?

Health Benefits of Human Saliva

More Photos

