Life Support

May 18, 2007 at 10:36 am 1 comment


Thesis Statement
Originally uploaded by Irish Pica.

I am amazed by Flickr user Irish Pica‘s recent contribution to the Diabetes Made Visible pool. She posted photos of her thought-provoking and beautiful thesis project: a chair made of 2,190 insulin syringes – the equivalent of what the average type 1 diabetic injects in a year. Click on the photo above to read her full thesis statement and view more photos of the project.

In other news, my freshly-applied abdominal I-Port got bent and went drooly on me sometime between yesterday afternoon and this morning and I forgot to bring an extra to work. I have no idea what I may have done to bend it. This wouldn’t be such a big deal if I hadn’t eat 40+ slow-digesting carbs at breakfast. Watching my blood sugar rise into the 200s even after a correction is scary, yet I still can’t wait to get home and get another one installed. It may just be a matter of moving to a lower-carb breakfast – that way if the port goes wonky overnight, I’m not putting myself in danger of high blood sugars after breakfast.

Entry filed under: diabetes, diabetes made visible, I-Port, insulin.

Ketones? Pizza hubris

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. e  |  May 18, 2007 at 11:17 am

    wow. what a successful project!

    also, a little scary about the i-port. good thing this happened now and not in a worse situation. i suppose you’d bring extras and back ups if you were travelling and all that….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr


