Ketones?

May 16, 2007 at 10:38 am 4 comments

While browsing the Diabetes Made Visible Fickr group this week, I ran across photos of various mysterious strips and devices for measuring ketones. In my 10 years as a diabetic, no member of my medical team has ever mentioned “ketones” to me. Frankly I’m not even sure what they are, so this week I am giving myself a homework assignment: how, when, and why should I be testing for Ketones?

Entry filed under: diabetes, ketones, MODY.

The I-Port Report Life Support

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kerri.  |  May 16, 2007 at 12:29 pm

    I’ve never used anything but ketone urine strips (instead of blood strips or whatever else is out there) to test for ketones. My doctors at the Joslin Diabetes Center have instructed me to test for ketones when my blood sugar is over 240 mg/dl or when I am ill.

    However, I do remember testing for ketones 20 years ago, using the test tubes, eyedroppers, and coloring tablets from my “Bill Nye the Science Guy” ketone kit. We’ve come a long way, baby.

    Nice blog you have here, by the way. I’ll be adding you to my blogroll over at Six Until Me.

    Best,
    Kerri.

    Reply
  • 2. Maniacally Monday  |  May 16, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    some ketones info:
    http://www.managedcaremag.com/supplements/0404_ketonetesting/MC0404_ketonetesting.pdf

    http://www.joslin.org/managing_your_diabetes_688.asp

    Also, I’m pretty sure one of our science teacher uses them in her fish tank to check out how the water is doing.

    Reply
  • 3. lancetqueen  |  May 16, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    Thanks Monday – you just did my homework for me AND made me LOL at the fish tank. 😛

    Reply
  • 4. julia  |  May 18, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    There’s also a meter, called a Precision Xtra, that does BG and ketone tests. My daughter (the one with diabetes) calls it a vampire meter because it uses so much blood.

    Ketones are made by the body when your bg is high or when you’re sick and they’re not something to mess around with. O’s wound up in the hospital with high ketones before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr

General Physician In Bhubaneswar

Ipod?

Health Benefits of Human Saliva

More Photos

