Count to 20

April 25, 2007 at 11:29 am 2 comments

Doesn’t it always happen this way: as soon as I mentally give up on something, things take a sudden turn for the better. After my terrible highs’n’lows weekend when ended with me going to bed in the 200s Sunday night, I woke up Monday morning with a normal fasting and have been sailing smoothly in the sweet 80s to 120s ever since. What changed? Counting 20 carbs per ounce of bread instead of 15. This did the trick on both my 1/2 whole wheat hamburger bun at dinner last night and for my 1/2 a bagel this morning. Insulin (and small amounts of whole-grain bread!) and I are friends again. 🙂

Looking forward to my body re-adjusting – right now I feel a bit hypoglycemic in the 80-90 range. It’s amazing and a bit scary how fast your body gets used to higher blood sugars.

Entry filed under: carb counting, diabetes, happy, insulin, MODY.

The Insulin Experience: Week 2 I Sport an I-Port

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. e  |  April 25, 2007 at 1:23 pm

    I do not feel well in the 80-90 range. 90 is when I just feel like i “really need to eat something” and happens in the mornings and below that, in the 80s I start feeling annoyed and aggitated.

    Reply
  • 2. Maniacally Monday  |  May 4, 2007 at 12:33 am

    I’m so glad to hear you seem to have turned a corner. I spent the six months before getting diagnosed feeling like I have zero control of my body, emotions, anything. I kept telling people I felt insane, but people kept shrugging it off. Now I know I was feeling insane as my body went nutso over my sugar numbers. I admire you for committing to the insulin and making the changes. I don’t know if I could have made it through that week and kept going.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr


