I’m The Operator With My Elephant Calculator

April 17, 2007 at 3:48 pm 1 comment

Apologies for that last little bout of self-pity – sometimes you just have to get it out of your system. And, as my stepmom kindly reminded me, at least the bruises are not on my face. 😛

In an effort to focus on the more positive aspects of diabetes, I’d like to start posting more about all the amazing foods I’ve discovered since switching to a lower-carb diet. Last night I took this recipe for Yellow Tail Snapper Baked in a Salt Crust and modified it for fillets by halving the ingredients for the stuffing, placing the stuffing on top of the filets, then folding them over and securing with a toothpick. I omitted the salt crust and instead topped with sea salt and additional fresh thyme, then baked for 10-12 minutes at 450. It was divine, incredibly aromatic, and of course low-carb (assuming you don’t eat all of the lemon slices). I can’t wait to try it again with whole snapper so we can do the salt crust.

Heard back from my PA today. She does not want to try a “regular” insulin, and said that most diabetics don’t cover proteins with additional units, but because I probably eat more protein than your average person, I can try covering any protein/meat over 3 oz, by counting it as 15 carbs per 3 oz equivalent. (Oh joy, more calculations!)

Speaking of calculations, my sweet husband bought me a calculator to keep in my kit. He didn’t even see this when he was buying it, but it has a lovely little splash of Engrish on it that says “Elephant: So Gentle, So Strong” which will surely make me smile every time I use it.

Allie Beatty of The Diabetes Blog posed an interesting question yesterday about whether eliminating the availability of pork insulin from the US was really in the best interest of diabetics. See C-Peptides and Pork insulin vs. Synthetic insulin and the follow-up Is Human Synthetic Insulin a Cock Block?.

Entry filed under: cpeptide, diabetes, diabetic accessories, diet, endocrinologist, happy, low-carb, MODY, protein, recipe.

Black and Blue The Insulin Experience: Week 2

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. e  |  April 17, 2007 at 6:22 pm

    No need for an appology! You totally had the right to be upset by black and blue bruises all over yourself! Ouch! I’ve been thinking about your trials a lot lately and am really amazed at how HARD it is to get things right. I was totally unaware of all the calculations and such. Makes me wonder how most people who have less knowledge or care about themselves than you do ever get it right. I’m super impressed at how you much you are really diving in and taking control though. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr

General Physician In Bhubaneswar

Ipod?

Health Benefits of Human Saliva

More Photos

