Mixed Emotions

April 2, 2007 at 5:06 pm 6 comments

Today I started an online diabetes management workshop. I haven’t mentioned it before because I’m not sure how much I’m allowed to discuss it while the workshop is going on, but I have to at least mention this: before the workshop started I had to send in some blood work for A1C and cholesterol but had forgotten about it. Today I found out my A1C result… 5.3. This is the second to lowest, if not lowest A1C I have ever had. Of course this only makes the little voice inside my head that all weekend has been asking “what the @#$@ are you thinking changing your diet and going on insulin when you are having the best blood sugars of your life?” even louder.

Entry filed under: diabetes, diet, hba1c, insulin, labresults.

Countown to I-Day Sink or swim

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. e  |  April 2, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    What do you think that indicates? That the diet is working? Or is this number pre-dietary changes? Or does it just fluctuate for other medical reasons?

    Good luck with the management workshop – how helpful it must be for stuff like that to exist?

    Reply
  • 2. lancetqueen  |  April 2, 2007 at 5:58 pm

    It indicates that my blood sugars have been close to normal for the past 3 months or so. I started all this business 2 months ago. The last A1C I had from my doctor’s office was 5.7 and was about 3 days before the 5.3 one, but I suspect it was slightly higher because I’d eaten poorly the day before I went in (blood sugars closest to the date of the test have a bigger influence on the average than ones on dates furthest away). A1Cs aren’t an exact science and can very from lab to lab, so you can’t use them as the end-all measure of how well you are doing, but my glucose meter readings have also been great lately and I can’t argue with that!

    Reply
  • 3. Maniacally Monday  |  April 5, 2007 at 1:47 am

    where did you find an online diabetes management course. That’s fabulous. Great A1C! That’s terrific! Maybe that you have such tight control of your A1C indicates that adding insulin will only keep you going strong. Probably the extra boost can’t hurt if you are looking at getting pregnant some day.

    Reply
  • 4. lancetqueen  |  April 5, 2007 at 2:48 am

    Monday – here’s the URL for the self-management study – it’s hosted by Stanford. https://diabetes.stanford.edu/hl/hlMain šŸ™‚

    Reply
  • 5. Monika  |  April 5, 2007 at 5:14 pm

    wow…that self management study sounds interesting. Can’t wait until you can tell us all about it and what you’ve learned.

    I’ve been reading your blog for a few months too…and just wanted to stop by and thank you for stopping in to check on me. It’s nice to know I’ve got people out there that ‘get’ what I’m going through.

    Oh…and big congrats on the wonderful A1c…that rocks! Even if it’s got you scratching your head wondering ‘how you did that’ (I know all about THAT feeling)

    Reply
  • 6. Kate  |  July 28, 2007 at 7:56 am

    Hi,
    I found your blog because I did a google search on MODY. I have been diagnosed as a Type 1 diabetic since the age of 8. I had a honeymoon period of almost 2 years before I had to take insulin, and my blood sugars have always been “strange”. My brother was diagnosed with MODY, and I was also tested, but my tests came back negative (I think, this was 4 years ago). However, my doctor keeps telling me that my blood sugars are behaving “just like a type 2”. This doesn’t really seem to have much impact on my treatment, though, and she knows very little about MODY. I live in California. Do you know anywhere I could find out more about this so I could perhaps try some different management techniques? Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr

General Physician In Bhubaneswar

Ipod?

Health Benefits of Human Saliva

More Photos

