Countown to I-Day

March 26, 2007 at 6:45 pm 2 comments

Just got off the phone with my doctor’s office: one week and 4 days until my diabetes resource center visit and introduction to insulin! Still approaching the “big I” with enthusiasm and not fear, although an unsuccessful attempt to eat right while dining out for lunch yesterday did leave me a little nervous about the task of precisely calculating doses for meals consisting of food I don’t control. But hey, people do it all the time, right? This week I will try not to drive my insulin-dependent co-worker crazy with questions and will aim keep my mind occupied with non-diabetes-related things. I bet I don’t sleep a wink the night before!

P.S.: I removed my last post complaining about health insurance not covering all of my testing strips because I realized how whiny and ungrateful it must sound to those who are not lucky enough to have help paying for their supplies. I still don’t have strips and I feel “blind” not knowing what my sugars look like, even though I’m eating the same things I always eat! Will be going to pick some up at full price later today.

Entry filed under: carb counting, counting carboyhdrates, diabetes, doctor appointment, health insurance, insulin, MODY.

Languid Spring Mixed Emotions

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. e  |  March 27, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    This reminds me of something I just read that, although horrible, was quite funny to imagine…make sure it doesn’t happen to you !! Haha.

    “A normally reasonable woman called up her doctor in the middle of the night screaming about her husband’s infidelities, then came in the office the next day and stripped off all her clothes….turned out she had been giving herself too much insulin.” :O oops.

    Reply
  • 2. robot w ashton / bobble  |  March 30, 2007 at 12:33 am

    I hope the insulin dealie goes the way you want it to. I am really interested to see how it goes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr

General Physician In Bhubaneswar

Ipod?

Health Benefits of Human Saliva

More Photos

