Two small victories

March 15, 2007 at 5:31 pm 1 comment

I know I sound way too excited about such small, predictable “victories”, but it is always exciting to find some way to make the foods you enjoy fit into your diabetic life.

The first: Overindulged by eating three fajitas at dinner two nights in a row, despite knowing two is my normal limit. Tuesday night it left me at 155 an hour after (ouch), but only at 94 on Wednesday. The difference? Wednesday evening I exercised! Which makes me wonder, how would I weather a typical low-carb dinner post-exercise without any Starlix at all? More thoughts on that later.

The second victory occurred at lunch today at my husband and I’s weekly lunch spot, which we have eaten at several times since I started on my A1C-lowering endeavor but until today just couldn’t seem to find the right combination of food at to not leave me with highs an hour later. Today I hit the jackpot: I took my Starlix 30 full minutes before eating. We ordered our usual cheese dip, but instead of eating out of the basket, I picked out 7 large chips and placed them on a napkin. Once they were gone I didn’t reach into the basket again. For my main course I ordered 1 brisket and one carnita taco, which I opened, ate the contents of, but left the tortillas untouched. I felt great afterwards and just couldn’t wait the hour to check my blood sugar and checked at the 30 minute point instead: 107, followed by 93 at the one hour mark! You all must think I’m crazy for wanting to ditch Starlix when it helps me eat the things I love, but I don’t see any reason why I couldn’t accomplish the same thing with a fast-acting insulin taken at the right time before a meal.

Entry filed under: diabetes, diet, eating out, exercise, food, happy, high blood sugar, starlix.

More Tracking Tools: Health Engage and MyCalorieCounter.com C-peptides and Changes Ahead

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. robot w ashton / bobble  |  March 22, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    Thats a good idea about eating just the insides of the fajita and not the tortilla! I’ll have to remember that one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr

General Physician In Bhubaneswar

Ipod?

Health Benefits of Human Saliva

More Photos

