My First Diabetes Book

March 3, 2007 at 5:01 pm 2 comments

I am embarrased to admit that, in my 10 years as a diabetic, I have never read a book about diabetes. I’ve read many a phamplet and website, but there is nary a book about diabetes in our vast home library. Soon this will change because this morning I placed my order for the just-released, revised edition of Dr. Bernstein’s Diabetes Solution: The Complete Guide to Achieving Normal Blood Sugars. I also threw in his Low-Carbohydrate Solution book for good measure. Dr. Bernstein is himself a diabetic and a long-time advocate of extremely tight control, and the book came highly recommended by Jenny, author of the What They Don’t Tell You About Diabetes site, so I can’t wait to dig in.

Entry filed under: books, counting carboyhdrates, diabetes, diet, low carbohydrate, low-carb, support.

Jimmy John’s Gourmet Subs youQA.com misinformation

2 Comments Add your own

  • […] 12th, 2007 A large part of my weekend was spent with my nose in Dr. Bernstein’s Diabetes Solution, which arrived on my doorstep Friday afternoon. I’d hoped to get more read before my […]

    Reply
  • 2. Lois Salsbury  |  April 17, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    I’m having trouble with my diabetes. Mt test are up and down. I try to eat better and I think I have doen a pretty good job, I eat less. Someone told me to watch my carbs. But I can’t seem to find a book that has a good list and bad list. Anyone out there know where to find such a book on just what is good to eat and what is not. I admit I’m a funny eater, there is a lot of food I don’t like. I live in an area right now where stores are awful and have to drive 50 miles to find good food. I need eye surgery and I understand they won’t do anything until i get this under control. I am 68 yrs old and have many other things wrong with me, nothing life threatning right now. I can’t get much exercise do to having asthma [exercise indused] so I have to be careful. Hope someone can help me with this, I don’t know where to look on the computer just happen to come across this page. Thank you Lois Salsbury

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr


