More on Exercise and Highs

February 21, 2007 at 5:04 pm 3 comments

This morning my fasting was a happy 76, but after my normal breakfast and two mid-morning snacks of 5 almonds each, my BG was 149. I ate my lunch (leftover Buffalo cheese burger on whole wheat, caramelized onions, spinach, condiments) anyway because this morning the scale showed that I’d lost a couple of pounds which is NOT a desirable outcome and seems to indicate I’m not getting enough calories. I’m wondering if this lack of fuel to burn could also be causing the post-cardio highs.

I’m trying to get a better grasp on the physiology of how the body fuels itself during exercise, and so far if I understand things correctly, the highs could be my liver dumping glucogen into my blood stream for fuel. I’m unclear on whether this is one of your body’s “last resort” fuel sources, or whether that is a normal response to vigorous exercise. It will be interesting to see later this week and weekend if the less intense workouts I plan to do also cause highs. From what I’m reading it sounds like most type 1s just add insulin before vigorous training, but unfortunately I don’t have that option (yet :)), so I plan to try eating some protein or a small meal (with Starlix if necessary) in the late afternoon, perhaps an hour or two before exercise time.

A few helpful links:

Entry filed under: diabetes, diet, exercise, high blood sugar, highs.

Exercise and highs Serving Size misunderstandishment

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. abu ameerah  |  February 21, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    i find it commendable how you are takling the issue of your diabetes…

    many of my relatives have diabetes and they just about refuse to do anything about it!

    Reply
  • 2. robot w ashton / bobble  |  February 25, 2007 at 4:26 pm

    This blog has been really helpful to me. I have suspected for a long time that I have diabetes, but I cannot afford to go to a doctor to find out for sure. Watching how you deal with it but still manage to have a normal, or even better than normal life has helped ease some of the fear I have had about confronting my own case, which is something I am going to have to do asap now that I am getting symptoms that tell me its really real. I finally had the guts to have my dad check my blood with his meter the other day, and the level was just over 400…whoa! Crazy high…but I think I can get it reeled in even w/o having seen a doctor.
    Anyway, I just wanted to say that for someone who is a little…no, ALOT scared about how diabetes is going to effect living life, your blog on the subject has been very enlightening.

    Reply
  • 3. lancetqueen  |  February 25, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    Bobble! Wow, I’m so glad this has been of help to you – email coming your way shortly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr

General Physician In Bhubaneswar

Ipod?

Health Benefits of Human Saliva

More Photos

