Exercise and highs

February 21, 2007 at 12:28 am 2 comments

Tonight I (barely) completed my first full 45-minute Turbo Jam workout. I had fun doing it, and afterwards thought I’d treat myself to a protien shake. But my meter said otherwise: 168 followed by 174, up from 83 immediately before my workout. What a buzz kill. An hour later I’m still in the 140s! What in the world is going on here? Perhaps its time to give my endocrinologist’s PA a ring…

Oh, I did remember albeit a bit too late to take the “high” opportunity to do my first at-home renal threshhold test, per Jenny’s excellent page about MODY. At 140+ the strip showed no sign of glucose in my urine. Hopefully next time I go into the high 100s I’ll remember to test again.

Entry filed under: exercise, high blood sugar.

10 Degrees South More on Exercise and Highs

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maniacally Monday  |  March 13, 2007 at 2:15 am

    Are you liking Turbo Jam? I was contemplating it, but I wasn’t sure how coordinated I needed to be.

    Reply
  • 2. lancetqueen  |  March 13, 2007 at 12:59 pm

    Maniacally – yes, I am really getting my money’s worth out of Turbo Jam! Once I got over the “cheeze” factor I really started having fun doing them. I’m getting the most use out of the 20-minute cardio and the 40-minute Turbo Sculpt routines. I’m trying to build up some muscle so I decided to avoid the 45 minute Cardio Party at least for now so I don’t burn through whatever muscle I’m building. I’m fairly coordinated (did dance team all through high school and some in college) but often get frustrated with “dance” based workout videos that do a lot of routine memorization, but I haven’t had any problems with the Turbo Jam videos. The one exception was the Turbo Jam Live Cardio Party remix video, which was way too advanced for me. So if you just buy the “starter” set and do them in the recommended order, you shouldn’t need too much coordination at all. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr

General Physician In Bhubaneswar

Ipod?

Health Benefits of Human Saliva

More Photos

