Common Cold

February 16, 2007 at 6:33 pm Leave a comment

The past 24 hours have been aggravating: on top of the nasty cold, my blood sugars have been hovering in the high 140s hours after meals that would normally have me back in the safe zone an hour later. I’ve looked online and can’t find any information regarding the affect of a common cold on a diabetic’s blood sugars other than the occasional reference to “sick days” making your body dump more glucose into your bloodstream. But how sick does your body have to be to do that? And does it apply to MODY diabetics?

Normally by this point in my cold (the snotty phase) I would have started taking Mucinex, but I’m afraid of throwing even more confusion into my system.

I suppose I’m going to have to suck it up and exercise today, even though the thought of even changing clothes makes me feel like I need a nap. Who knows, maybe it’ll make me feel better instead of worse and I can actually consume a carbohydrate or two at my next meal. I know the cold has a way of everything feel about 5 times more dramatic than it really is, but thinking about every thing I put in my mouth is really, really wearing on me. I resent having to fear bread and I just want my Starlix to work again.

Entry filed under: diabetes, high blood sugar, highs.

Happy Anniversary: a decade of diabetes Twenty-nine

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr

General Physician In Bhubaneswar

Ipod?

Health Benefits of Human Saliva

More Photos

