Diabetes-tracking tools

February 7, 2007 at 1:48 pm 5 comments

iCal Screenshot My current system for keeping track of what I eat, when I exercise and what my blood sugars are throughout the day is fairly simple: I create events for each meal, exercise and blood sugar reading in iCal on my Powerbook. (Click on the image to the left for a screenshot) Although it doesn’t give me pretty charts and graphs, it does give me this nice printout (see image to right) to take with me to the endocrinologist, then they can compare it with the charts they download from my glucose meter. I can also set alarms to remind me when to check.iCal diabetes printout

The main problem with this method is that it doesn’t help me track how many carbohydrates I ingest at each meal. Although I keep an account at FitDay, FitDay is also flawed for diabetes tracking in that it only tracks your total carbohydrate for the day rather than at each meal.

Application-based diabetes tracking software for Apple OS X seems few and far between. This week I’ll be giving two other systems a shot: 1-2 Tracker and Health Engage.

Does anyone knows of an online-only system similar to FitDay specifically for diabetics?

Entry filed under: diabetes, iCal, Macintosh, technology, tracking tools.

A mystery high Good tortilla, bad tortilla

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maniacally Monday  |  March 13, 2007 at 2:18 am

    While I’m not attempting to comment spam, i just wanted to say that I hadn’t thought of using my iCal to track my food. Brilliant. I am so going to start doing that!

    Reply
  • […] for now I’m sticking with iCal and the occasional FitDay for looking up carbohydrate content. I have a few more tools and websites […]

    Reply
  • 3. Zoboccaft  |  February 24, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    I am necessary wish to find

    Reply
  • 4. website  |  June 4, 2012 at 7:30 am

    I enjoy your wordpress design, where did you get a hold of it?

    Reply
  • 5. losing weight  |  July 15, 2014 at 11:58 pm

    This sitе was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something that helped me.
    Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Diabetes Made Visible @ Flickr

General Physician In Bhubaneswar

Ipod?

Health Benefits of Human Saliva

More Photos

